SEO-byr� i Oslo

Annonsere p� Google


Carlos Luis

Carlos was born in Pinar del Río, Cuba, in 1989. In 2001, he began his dance studies at the School of Art-Raúl Sánchez Garcia. Continuing his education in 2004, he attended the Cuban National School of the Arts, where he specialized in Cuban contemporary dance forms, Afro-Cuban folkloric dance, and classical ballet. Between 2007 and 2009, he danced with the companies Corpus, Spiritu, Alma, directed by Tangin Fong, and Rakatán, directed by Nilda Guerra. In 2009, he joined the renowned Danza Contemporánea de Cuba, led by Miguel Iglesias, eventually attaining the rank of principal dancer. He toured extensively, performing the works of Eduardo Rivero, Rafael Bonachela, George Céspedes, Annabelle Lopez Ochoa, Kenneth Kvamstrom, Jan Linkens, Itsik Galili, Norge Cedeño Raffo, Juan Kruz Diaz de Garai, and Julio César Iglesias in Mexico, the United States, France, Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom, Germany, Poland, Colombia, Switzerland, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg. In 2015, he danced at The Royal Opera House in London, featuring in the ballet “Tocororo,” choreographed by the renowned Cuban ballet dancer, Carlos Acosta.The Hermanos Saíz Association, an organization that gathers the young artistic and intellectual avant-garde of Cuba, honored Carlos Luis with the prestigious Ramiro Guerra Interpretation Award in Contemporary Dance in 2015. In 2016, he became a principal dancer with the newly established company Acosta Danza, under the direction of Carlos Acosta. With this company, he toured worldwide, performing works by renowned choreographers such as Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Goyo Montero, Justin Peck, Christopher Bruce, Saburo Teshigawara, Marianela Boan, Maria Rovira, Jorge Crecis, and Juliano Nunes.From 2020 to 2024, Carlos Luis was a dancer with Ballet Nuremberg, under the direction of choreographer Goyo Montero. During this time, he performed in works by Goyo Montero, Marco Goecke, Jacopo Godani, Edward Clug, Joseph Hernandez, Bryan Arias, Nacho Duato, Ohad Naharin, Hofesh Shechter, Johan Inger, and Mauro Bigonzetti.